July 29th, 2014 – Biological EM Sample Preparation Tutorial

NCSU’s Analytical Instrumentation Facility (AIF) along with the Center for Electron Microscopy is giving a lecture on transmission electron microscopy (TEM) sample preparation for biological samples followed by instrument demonstrations. It is designed to showcase the available capabilities for biological sample preparation and observation available to the NCSU community. It is meant for new users and those interested in learning about biological sample preparation for electron microscopic examination. The course is a 2 hour lecture given by Valerie Lapham (Center for Electron Microscopy) and Roberto Garcia (AIF) on Tuesday Morning (9:30 am to 11:45 am) with a break in between. There will be demonstrations in the afternoon that you must sign up for to attend.

This lecture will cover the following topics:

1. Biological Sample Preparation for SEM.

2. Biological Sample Preparation for TEM.

3. Ultramicrotomy and Cryo-Ultramicrotomy.

After completion of this course, the attendee will understand the processing and characterization facilities that are available to them for biological samples and have a better understanding of the sample preparation the is involved with biological samples.

Date Tuesday July 29th, 2014
Time 9:00 am – 4:30 PM
Location TBA
Cost Free

For more details and to register, please contact Roberto Garcia at rgarcia@ncsu.edu.


June 20th, 2014 – ASSIST Young Scholars and High School Teachers at AIF

A group of approximately 40 high-school teachers and students visited the NCSU Analytical Instrumentation Facility (AIF) on June 20th, 2014. As part of the ASSIST Research Experience for Teachers (RET), Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) and Young Scholars programs, professors and graduate students from the Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) and AIF staff members introduced the groups to several state-of-the-art instruments for nanoscale science and engineering research. Professor Elizabeth Dickey first gave a short lecture overviewing nanoscale imaging and chemistry and identified resources for integrating nanoscale metrology into K-12 curricula. Small groups then imaged the natural nanostructuring of butterfly wings on a scanning electron microscope (SEM) with Weiting Chen, a graduate student from MSE. The group then investigated the surface chemistry of water-repellent nanofabrics via secondary ion mass spectroscopy (SIMS) imaging, with AIF staff Dr. Elaine Zhou.

April 25th, 2014 – Nanodays at AIF

The NCSU Analytical Instrumentation Facility (AIF) opened its doors to group of visiting middle- and high-school students and educators on April 25. As part of Nanodays 2014, professors and graduate students from the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and AIF staff members introduced these guests to state-of-the-art instrumentation used to image materials at the nanometer length scale. A highlight of the afternoon included demonstrations on the extreme resolution scanning electron microscope, a recent addition to the AIF that was funded by the National Science Foundation (grant number 1337694). This instrument is used by a variety of researchers at NCSU and the triangle region to high-resolution (sub-nanometer) imaging of samples. One unique feature of this instrument is the ability to image materials that are non-conductive (insulating), including textile fibers and semiconductor materials for advanced electronics.

Coordinated by the NCSU Nanoscale Science Education Research Group, Nanodays annually attracts over 2000 top middle- and high- school science students, educators and parents across North Carolina to learn about cutting-edge nanoscience and nanotechnology research and applications.